The Voices In The Wind


There are no words
February 5, 2007, 9:38 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have been trying to figure out how to express my disappointment about the Bears Super**** loss last night to the Colts, but I have come up empty. The defense didn’t play very well, “Gross”man played horribly (as was to be expected) and the Colts did an excellent job of keeping the ball away from Hester after he ran the opening kick-off in for a touchdown. In short, the 3 things that we needed to happen in order to win the game (good defense, special teams getting some results and “Gross”man playing well) didn’t. So, we lost.

I expected more from my team and didn’t get what I was hoping for. Such is life, I suppose.

My main problem is with Lovie Smith, and how he has handled the whole “‘Gross’man in the quarterback position’ situation. When asked awhile back if Lovie was going to keep “Gross”man in as quarterback, Lovie responded that they were winning with him in there, so why take him out? Well, Lovie, as much as I respect you, we were not winning with “Gross”man in as the quarterback. We were winning with our defense, special teams and our running game. We could have had Forest Gump in as quarterback and still done as well (in fact, some would argue that we did have Forest Gump as a quarterback. And I am not one to argue with them).

I understand that Lovie was trying to do the “honorable” thing by sticking with his man. But you are the coach of an NFL team, you don’t get paid to do what is “honorable”, you get paid to make decisions that will help the team win. And sometimes doing what will help the team win may include doing something that is not so “honorable”.

So, as you can probably tell, I am a little ticked right now so I’m going to do what any well-respected woman would do when she is emotional – I’m going shopping.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

